Addie Page
1 min readOct 14, 2022

--

I think this kind of relativism definitely has its place--everyone deserves empathy!--but it also has its limits. The fact that every generation feels like its high and lows are more extreme than everyone else's doesn't necessarily make it true. Some differences are objective and can be treated that way--my generation had a better time in our early 20s than the generation of drafted boomers stuck in Vietnam. I think that's just objectively true. Current millennials in America are, on average, better off than the our counterparts in Ethiopia or Ukraine. And I think that raising young kids in total covid-induced isolation while autocracy rages across the globe and we're all buried in debt is, objectively, tougher than life as an average 40-year-old in the 90s. I don't say that to be snarky. Boomers in the 90s had real, genuine challenges that matter. I respect that. But it's not like now. And to address our current situation, I think it's fair to admit to the severity of it.

--

--